Kids’ Birthday Cards

Hello everyone. Today is the second day of spring in Australia (I know, the weather down under is the total opposite to US and UK) and it is still very chilly in Melbourne. The temperature is ranging from below 10°C to the low-teens. Not a great weather for spring yet but let’s hope the weather warms up next week.

Now that I am in Melbourne, I have a lot more time to craft but I still don’t craft as much. Is there anyone lazy like I do? I like to craft when I have an idea or inspirations to work on. I don’t like to stamp, colour and die-cut them to keep. I have some of those but I find that as time goes and my colouring improves (or at least I choose to believe so), I tend to throw the old die-cuts away because I find those colourings are no good. :/

Ok, so enough of ranting here. It has been a pretty good start to the week. I cleaned the house and made some birthday cards for the people I love – my niece who is turning 2 next month and le bf’s nephew who is turning 3 at the end of September. Both of them are so adorable and I love them to bits!

I am inspired to use my brand new Avery Elle’s Numbered Balloons to create the cards.

I stamped the respective numbers using Hero Arts’ ombré ink pads in pink and green and added a subtle hint of glitter with a clear wink of stella. It is a little hard to capture those sparkles but I made sure to add a few more layers for that shine when they receive the cards.

The background is watercoloured using distress ink and what’s a happy card without a sun? Stitched sun is from Mama Elephant’s. My favourite boy and girl stamps are from Mama Elephant’s In My Heart. The yay balloon string is also from Mama Elephant called Party Kit. The Stitched Hillside Borders is from Lawn Fawn on a random green cardstock I found in my much hoarded stash before I die-cut the squares out using the largest die from Avery Elle’s Double Pierced Rectangle Dies. These rectangle dies are acquired recently and are used to death! ❤

I complete the look using a slightly larger white cardstock and there you go… for these challenges:-

… and Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes.

